1876 AD.
Nasir al Molk Mosque, Shiraz, Iran
(Photo © Amin Abedini)

Tekst

Tekst

“Allah is the most Beautiful
and
He likes beauty”

1571 AD.
Jali, Humayun’s Tomb, New Delhi, India
(Photo © Soumyabrata)

Islamic art and architecture reflect how Muslims relate to the universe. It is a spiritual representation of nature, not a replication of it. This is meant to make the artist – and the spectators who see the decoration – feel closer to Allah. In Islam, beauty has always been closely associated with the divine. One of the hadiths (traditions or sayings) of the Prophet Mohammed reads, ‘Allah is the Most Beautiful and He loves beauty’. And this is really reflected in Islamic architecture, with certain mosques considered some of the most magnificent and awe-inspiring buildings in the world.

Islamic art is also abstract because it is meant to symbolise the transcendent and infinite nature of God. And the arabesque sums up this purpose; after all, the mosaic pattern can be repeated ad infinitum. Geometry has an important spiritual meaning in Islam. It is meant to reflect the language of the universe and the greatness of Allah. 

14th c. AD.
Balcony of Lindaraja, Alhambra, Andalusia, Spain

“This art makes manifest, in the physical order
directly perceivable by the senses,
the archetypal realities and acts therefore
as a ladder for the journey of the soul
from the visible and the audible
to the Invisible which is also Silence transcending all sound”

– Seyyed Hossein Nasr, Iranian philosopher

1876 AD.
Nasir al Molk Mosque, Shiraz, Iran

Islamic patterns were created to lead the viewer to an understanding of an underlying reality. And thus, not just a decoration. The patterns are seen as a bridge to the spiritual realm, an instrument to purify the mind and soul.

Much of Islamic decorative art leads to transformation. The aim is to transfigure, mosques by turning patterns into ‘light’, the decorated pages of a Koran into ‘windows to the infinite’.

2007 AD.
Jalil Khayat Mosque in Erbil, Iraq

“Islam’s concentration on geometric patterns draws attention away from the representational world… to one of pure forms, giving insight into the workings of the inner self and their reflection in the universe. Whereas the experienced world… is of necessity in three dimensions, the paradisiac world, or world of motivating intelligences, exists two-dimensionally only, the principle being that as archetypes are released from the limitations of existentiality, so also is their confinement within dimensions…”

– Keith Critchlow, architectural historian

1619 AD.
Ceiling of Sheikh-Lotf-Allah Mosque, Isfahan, Iran

“Circle is known as the only form that can express the elegance of divinity.”

Tekst

In Islamic art, the geometric figure of the circle represents the primal symbol of unity and the ultimate source of all diversity in creation. The natural division of the circle into regular subdivisions is the ritual starting point for many traditional Islamic patterns.

Circles are used because they have no end, meaning they are infinite – and this serves as a reminder of the infinite nature of Allah.

The constant repetition and multiplication to infinity symbolises the omnipresent God.

8th c. AD. (Umayyad period)
Floor mosaic from Hisham’s Palace, Jericho, Palestine

It is interesting to note that many of the patterns in Islamic art resemble the mandalas found in Buddhist art, which similarly serve to represent the universe. Sacred geometry is the idea that certain shapes and patterns (such as spirals) have a spiritual meaning behind them. And so we find geometry used in the construction of many types of religious architecture. In essence, Islamic art and architecture represent the universe. After all, we can find examples of Fibonacci spiral patterns in the vaulted ceilings of mosques, the same pattern found everywhere in the natural world.

17th c. AD.
Taj Mahal mosque ceiling, Agra, India

Through the process of studying and/or creating a mandala, one can reach his inner centre, the connection with the Source. The circle, the first originally closed form of Sacred Geometry, thus becomes a passage to Oneness.

15th c. AD (Ottoman period)
Illuminated prayer scroll, 7 metres high, Turkey
Arabic manuscript written in 3 languages: Naskh, Tthuluth and Muhaqqaq.
The Muhaqqaq (yellow text centre) reads ‘ya khafi al-altaf najjina mimma nakhaf’ (Oh possessor of hidden kindness, save us from that which we fear).
(Photo © Asian Civilisations Museum, Singapore)

Sacred Geometry of the Heart

Tekst

Love always attaches itself to beauty
in one form or another.
If mosques and schools of learning are beautiful,
we are attracted to them.
If someone’s speech is beautiful,
we are attracted to it.
Beauty inspires love and love moves our soul.

– Ibn Abi al-Dunya, 9th c. AD.

Muslims circle around the sacred Ka’ba, the concept of Islamic circular decorations.
(Photo © Agence France-Presse – Getty Images)

Sufi practitioners go around in circles to experience Oneness with God.
(Photo © Tuul & Bruno Morandi / Getty Images)

Excerpts from
– ‘Islamic Art and Geometric Patterns’, by Jan P. Hogendijk
– ‘Islamitische Kunst en Geometrische Patronen’, by The Metropolitan Museum of Art
– ‘The Silent Theology of Islamic Art’, by Oludamini Ogunnaike

© Please respect the authors’ mention and copyright.

1876 ​​apr. J.-C.
Mosquée Nasir al Molk, Shiraz, Iran
(Photo © Amin Abedini)

Tekst

Tekst

“Allah est le plus beau
et
Il aime la beauté”

1571 apr. J.-C.
Jali, la tombe de Humayun, New Delhi, Inde
(Photo © Soumyabrata)

L’art et l’architecture islamiques reflètent la relation des musulmans avec l’univers. Il s’agit d’une représentation spirituelle de la nature, et non d’une reproduction de celle-ci. Cela a pour but de faire en sorte que l’artiste – et les spectateurs qui voient la décoration – se sentent plus proches d’Allah. L’Islam a toujours étroitement associé la beauté au divin. L’un des hadiths (traditions ou dictons) du prophète Mahomet dit : ‘Allah est le plus beau et il aime la beauté’. Et cela se reflète réellement dans l’architecture islamique, certaines mosquées étant considérées comme les bâtiments les plus magnifiques et les plus impressionnants du monde.

L’art islamique est également abstrait car il est censé symboliser la nature transcendante et infinie de Dieu. Et l’arabesque résume ce but ; après tout, le motif de la mosaïque peut être répété à l’infini. La géométrie a une signification spirituelle importante dans l’Islam. Elle est censée refléter le langage de l’univers et la grandeur d’Allah. 

14e s. apr. J.-C.
Balcon de Lindaraja, Alhambra, Andalousie, Espagne

“Cet art rend visible, dans l’ordre physique immédiatement perceptible par les sens, les réalités archétypales et agit donc comme une échelle pour le voyage de l’âme du visible et de l’audible vers l’invisible, qui est aussi le silence qui transcende tous les sens.”

– Seyyed Hossein Nasr, philosophe irakien

1876 ​​apr. J.-C.
Mosquée Nasir al Molk, Shiraz, Iran

Les motifs islamiques ont été créés pour amener le spectateur à comprendre une réalité sous-jacente. Et donc, pas seulement une décoration. Les motifs sont considérés comme un pont vers le monde spirituel, un outil pour purifier l’esprit et l’âme.

Une grande partie de l’art décoratif islamique conduit à la transformation. L’objectif est de transfigurer les mosquées en transformant les motifs en ‘lumière’, les pages décorées d’un Coran devenant des ‘fenêtres sur l’infini’.

2007 apr. J.-C.
Mosquée Jalil Khayat à Erbil, Irak

“Islam’s concentration on geometric patterns draws attention away from the representational world… to one of pure forms, giving insight into the workings of the inner self and their reflection in the universe. Whereas the experienced world… is of necessity in three dimensions, the paradisiac world, or world of motivating intelligences, exists two-dimensionally only, the principle being that as archetypes are released from the limitations of existentiality, so also is their confinement within dimensions…”

– Keith Critchlow, historien de l’architecture

1619 apr. J.-C.
Plafond de la mosquée Sheikh-Lotf-Allah, Ispahan, Iran

“Le cercle est connu comme la seule forme capable d’exprimer l’élégance de la divinité.”

Tekst

Dans l’art islamique, la figure géométrique du cercle représente le symbole primitif de l’unité et la source ultime de toute diversité dans la création. La division naturelle du cercle en subdivisions régulières est le point de départ rituel de nombreux motifs islamiques traditionnels.

Les cercles sont utilisés parce qu’ils n’ont pas de fin, ce qui signifie qu’ils sont infinis – et cela sert à rappeler la nature infinie d’Allah.

La répétition et la multiplication constantes jusqu’à l’infini comme symbole de l’omniprésence de Dieu.

Début 8e s. apr. J.-C. (période omeyyade)
Mosaïque de sol du palais d’Hisham, Jéricho, Palestine

Il est intéressant de noter que de nombreux motifs de l’art islamique ressemblent aux mandalas de l’art bouddhiste, qui servent également à représenter l’univers. La géométrie sacrée est l’idée que certaines formes et certains motifs (comme les spirales) ont une signification spirituelle. Et c’est pourquoi nous trouvons la géométrie utilisée dans la construction de nombreux types d’architecture religieuse. Par essence, l’art et l’architecture islamiques représentent l’univers. Après tout, nous pouvons trouver des exemples de motifs en spirale de Fibonacci dans les plafonds voûtés des mosquées, le même motif que l’on retrouve partout dans le monde naturel.

17e s. apr. J.-C.
Plafond de la mosquée Taj Mahal, Agra, Inde

Par le processus d’étude et/ou de création d’un mandala, on peut atteindre son centre intérieur, la connexion avec la Source. Le cercle, première forme originellement fermée de la géométrie sacrée, devient ainsi un passage vers l’Unité.

15e s. apr. J.-C. (période ottomane)
Rouleau de prière illuminé, 7 mètres de haut, Turquie
Manuscrit arabe écrit en 3 langues : Naskh, Tthuluth et Muhaqqaq.
Le Muhaqqaq (centre du texte en jaune) dit ‘ya khafi al-altaf najjina mimma nakhaf‘ (Oh possesseur de bonté cachée, sauve-nous de ce que nous craignons).
(Photo © Asian Civilisations Museum, Singapour)

Géométrie sacrée du coeur

Tekst

“L’amour s’attache toujours à la beauté
sous une forme ou une autre.
Si les mosquées et les écoles d’apprentissage sont belles,
nous sommes attirés par elles.
Si le discours de quelqu’un est beau,
nous sommes attirés par lui.
La beauté inspire l’amour et l’amour touche notre âme.”

– Ibn Abi al-Dunya, 9e s. apr. J.-C.

Les musulmans tournent autour de la Ka’ba sacrée, le concept de décorations circulaires islamiques.
(Photo © Agence France Presse – Getty Images)

Les pratiquants soufis tournent en rond pour expérimenter l’Unité avec Dieu.
(Photo © Tuul & Bruno Morandi / Getty Images)

Extraits de
– ‘Islamic Art and Geometric Patterns’, par Jan P. Hogendijk
– ‘Islamitische Kunst en Geometrische Patronen’, par The Metropolitan Museum of Art
– ‘The Silent Theology of Islamic Art’, par Oludamini Ogunnaike

© Merci de respecter la mention des auteurs et le copyright.